Sitemap  |  Contact
About us   The Danish Expedition Foundation handles the planning and implementation of Galathea 3. Who are we? What are the sources of our funding? And how did it all start?

The Board of Trustees of the Danish Expedition Foundation

  • Chamberlain Søren Haslund-Christensen (Chairman)  
  • Permanent Secretary Uffe Toudal Pedersen, The Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (Vice Chairman)
  • Permanent Secretary Karsten Dybvad, The Prime Minister’s Office
  • Permanent Secretary Niels Preisler, The Ministry of Education
  • Permanent Secretary Anders Troldborg, The Ministry of Defence
  • Curator Carsten U. Larsen, The National Museum
  • Lecturer Bente Aagaard Lomstein, Aarhus University, The Institute of Biology
  • Professor Finn Surlyk, Copenhagen University, The Institute of Geology
  • Editor in Chief Henrik Thomsen, Morgenavisen Jyllands-Posten
  • Chief Sub-Editor Peter Tanev, STV A/S

Contact person: Chamberlain Søren Haslund-Christensen (Chairman), mobile: +45 5151 8888

Print the page



Chamberlain Søren Haslund-Christensen

  • Son of the explorer Henning Haslund-Christensen, one of the members of the group that founded the previous Danish Expedition Foundation in 1945. The Foundation became the organisational framework for Galathea 2 and a number of expeditions to destinations that included Greenland and Central Asia, among others. The group of founders also included journalist and author Hakon Mielche. 
  • Career as military officer.
  • 1989-2003 Lord Chamberlain to HM the Queen and HRH the Prince.
  • Leader of the Haslund-Christensen Film Expedition to Central Asia in 1986 and to Mongolia in 1990.
  • Vice President of the Royal Danish Geographical Society.
    Photo: Mik Eskestad